Nice New Book Goodness

Punc(tuation) Rocks!

Shady Characters
Shady Characters

If the history of punctuation seems like a dry subject, try reading Shady Characters. It turns out that familiar symbols like the ampersand, asterisk, dash, and quotations marks have fascinating backstories. Why aren’t we using interrobangs or manicules more often? Did you know that the ampersand was once considered a letter of the alphabet? And how in the world did the octothorpe (otherwise known as a pound sign, flash, pig-pen, tic-tac-toe, or hashtag) get that name?

Author Keith Houston’s first book goes back to the libraries of Alexandria, through ancient graffiti and Bibles, right up to modern-day intrigue and Madison Avenue. He parses the differences between hyphens, dashes, and minus signs, and we learn that there have been several largely-unsuccessful attempts to introduce a symbol to indicate irony. For readers who enjoyed Eats, Shoots & Leaves a few years ago, Shady Characters is a fascinating read. Exclamation point!

New eBooks from 3M

Here are the new titles available from 3M.

Nice New Book Goodness

Here is what you can find on the shelves that is new next week. Come in and visit us, or put your items on hold from home! We will let you know when they are ready for you to pick up!

New eBooks from 3M

Here are the new titles available from 3M.

Nice New Book Goodness

Here is what you can find on the shelves that is new next week. Come in and visit us, or put your items on hold from home! We will let you know when they are ready for you to pick up!

New eBooks from 3M

Here are the new titles available from 3M.

New eBooks from OverDrive

Here are the new titles available from OverDrive.

Blood Magick Cousins O'Dwyer Trilogy, Book 3 by Nora Roberts

The Burning Room by Michael Connelly

Larger Than Life:  A Novella by Jodi Picoult

Not a Drill:  A Jack Reacher Short Story by Lee Child

On the Road with Janis Joplin by John Byrne Cooke

Prince Lestat:Vampire Chronicles, Book 11 by Anne Rice

What a Lady Craves by Ashlyn Macnamara

What a Lady Demands by Ashlyn Macnamara

Nice New Book Goodness

Here is what you can find on the shelves that is new next week. Come in and visit us, or put your items on hold from home! We will let you know when they are ready for you to pick up!

Syndicate content