Meet Us On Main Street

When the book group coordinators, Marianne and Pat, present at Meet Us On Main Street, it is an education!  Divided into sections, the group today was treated to a number of new titles in fiction, two venerable classics, and an insight into the history and philosophy of a "born in the USA" religion.  Curious??

As well there was a lively discussion about Harper Lee, author of  To Kill A Mockingbird, and the great anticipation of her second novel, Go Set A Watchman, to be published in the summer.  You can bet we will be getting copies so keep an eye to the website and this blog to when they come in.  We will let you know.

List begins below:

 

 

 

Nice New Book Goodness

Here is what you can find on the shelves that is new next week. Come in and visit us, or put your items on hold from home! We will let you know when they are ready for you to pick up!

What's the Hoopla?

Need some inner peace after all those snow days?  Here's some Yoga selections from Hoopla!

Not sure what this is?  Read all about it here.

What are my neighbors up to?

Here is a list of the most popular items this week.

You Are What You Read!

The message from The SoNo Loft is “You Are Not Broken”.  And we aren’t thank goodness. The storm has come and is thankfully gone.  It is the end of January; these things are to be expected.  I like to spend the time before a weather event examining what makes it into the shopping carts of others.   It has always fascinated me what people think they “need” for a big storm.  Does anyone really need an industrial sized drum full of Cheetos?  The only use I could think of was that the orange glow of your hands would enable you to be found in the dark should power be lost.  Or perhaps that same orange powder can melt snow?  People!  As my mother used to say, a loaf of bread, a dozen eggs and a bit of cheese and you’ll be just fine.  She left out the Liquor Store but I have to believe that was implied.  Monday, the PA Rodent will emerge from its bunker and hopefully this year he will have some good news for us. Make a wish and here’s hoping that the Full Snow Moon which is going to occur on Tuesday is totally misnamed. This week we are all over the map and we have Boston, more Boston, Hong Kong, Newfoundland, Florida and New York.  And of course The Playlist!


Let us begin!


Pat T. has finished Boston Girl by Anita Diamant.  Here’s what she thought.  “The cover of this book depicts a young girl engrossed in her book as she sits on a post surrounded by water and this picture captures exactly what I felt as I was reading this book. Addie Baum, as 85 year old woman, looks back on her life when her granddaughter asks her the question, ‘How did you get to be the woman you are today?’  Her story is full of warmth, sadness, love, misunderstanding, friendship, loyalty and humor. I didn't want to let go of the pleasure of reading this lovely novel!”


Mall has also just finished Boston Girl  and she too is a fan.  “Thank you, Juno, for encouraging me to devour Anita Diamant's latest novel, The Boston Girl. Addie Baum narrates the story of her life, growing up in the North End of Boston to immigrant parents during the turn of the century. As a young girl, Addie's active curiosity brings her to The Saturday School, a literary and arts club for young women from all backgrounds. Don't let that make you think it's all poetry and embroidery; Addie and a group of young girls all surround and eventually scare off an abusive man with nothing but croquet mallets and baseball bats. The story is about Addie, sure, but it's also about the power of female friendships that help in shaping a whole, complete person. Teachers, friends, sisters, colleagues, and granddaughters, they all play a role in this book. Keep your phone handy because you'll be calling every important woman in your life after finishing this one!”


Abby is starting a new series this week. “While I did not read book group favorites The Art of Hearing Heartbeats and A Well-Tempered Heart by Jan-Philipp Sendker, I was excited to see his upcoming book Whispering Shadows (April 2015) is the first of a mystery trilogy., German-American Paul Leibovitz was always fascinated by China and as an adult expat in in Hong Kong, he was living the life he dreamed of when he suffers an unimaginable loss. Moving to a small island in Hong Kong accessible by ferry, Paul is immersed in grief and barely able to manage contact with others. When approached by an American couple whose well-connected businessman son has gone missing, Paul turns to his police detective friend Zhang.  Zhang is a devoted friend who understands Paul’s grief and does his best to draw out his old friend. Zhang himself is badly scarred from events that took place in his youth during the Cultural Revolution.  I’m looking forward to how Sendker moves Paul and Zhang’s investigations into a trilogy. “


Barbara M is also on an island this week.  In a different part of the world but an island just the same. “An island off the coast of Newfoundland is the setting of the novel Sweetland by Michael Crummey. The Canadian government has decided that it was no longer viable for them to provide services to the island and so they offer the inhabitants large sums of money to move to the mainland, but only if they all agree to leave. There is only one hold-out, Moses Sweetland,   whose family has lived on the island for twelve generations and for whom the island was named. The descriptions of island life are vivid and the dialogues which are written in dialect all add to the atmosphere. The pace of the book is leisurely and the author alternates between the present and the past revealing the islanders’ histories. I am thoroughly enjoying this book and am totally captivated by the story of this remote place. “


Steph is reading about weddings.  This is not surprising.  But this week she is reading about a fictional wedding.  “Over the weekend, I read I Take You by Eliza Kennedy, a very funny and oddly sweet debut novel. The novel begins a week before the marriage of Lily Wilder with a drop-dead introduction:
“I’m getting married.
He’s perfect!
It’s a disaster.”
For though her fiancé Will is indeed fairly perfect, and though pretty much everything about her life is perfect, there’s one big problem: Lily can’t stop cheating on him. She’s not even sure she wants to get married at this point. She, Will, and her closest friends all head down to Florida to meet with the neurotic wedding planner and her odd family to prepare for the big day.  A great book for fans of Jincy Willett or Where’d You Go, Bernadette?, or anybody who likes their books funny and with a sharp bite.


It’s no secret that there is a core group of us who are Bravo fans.  Big, big Bravo fans.  We discuss and dissect the Housewives, chat up Top Chef, and basically worship at the Altar of Andy.  Andy is now keeping me company on the days I drive to work with The Andy Cohen Diaries:  A Deep Look at a Shallow Year.  Andy draws inspiration from the other Andy, as emulates the Andy Warhol Diaries looking back on a year in his life and all who come into his orbit.  The title is truthful: it’s shallow but it’s also much fun. Andy is unabashedly in love with New York, pop culture, celebrity and he’s not afraid to dish.  Definitely not something you would want to listen to with kids in the car though so be warned about that. 


DJ Jazzy Patty McC!  From The State Which Shall Not Be Named.  I have heard that it’s her birthday next week (the 4th for those who like precision) HAPPY BIRTHDAY PATTY!  And thanks for our weekly playlist!  Everything goes down easier with a playlist!  What’s good this week Birthday Girl? “I was almost jealous of the mountains of snow you folks were promised during Snowmaggedon. I thought about the luge my children made in our front yard last year and remembered the joy that it brought them. It’s been seriously cold here but the Snow Gods have been kind to us this season. We’ve not been out sledding yet and are still searching for the perfect hill. So I thought this week you might need a playlist for future snow days. Whether you are shoveling, snow blowing or just staying warm inside consuming carbohydrates and hot chocolate it goes without saying that we need tunes. I recommend this one on shuffle. Stay well and stay warm.”

DL MUSIC 4 SHOVELING OR STAYING INSIDE 2015

Meet Us On Main Street

Cathy and Caroline took time off from their administrative duties to present titles of their fancy to the Meet Us On Main Street Group.  Lots of recipes books:  one from "prison;" another devoted to Italian culinary tips; and lastly, flirty cocktails designed to keep you slim.  As well, a couple of memoirs, two audiobooks from favorite stories that our patrons never seem to tire of, a novel that will tug at you patriotic heartstrings and two Home books -- a contemporary home decorating idea book, and a wedding planning book.  To couple with the wedding theme -- a child's board book version of Romeo and Juliet -- so cute and quick to read.   The last three books are recommendations from the Meet Us On Main Street group themselves:  a contemporary novel regarding identity theft on the internet that received accolades and placement on Britain's Man Booker Prize Short-List last year; a favorite of our librarians and patrons alike that is set in Paris; and a thrilling new novel that is very much like Gone Girl, but different.  Scroll down and have a look-see.  

 

 

New eBooks from 3M

Here are the new titles available from 3M.

New eBooks from OverDrive

Here are the new titles available from OverDrive.

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

First Frost  by Sarah Addison Allen

God, Guns, Grits, and Gravy by Mike Huckabee

Leaving Before the Rains Come by Alexandra Fuller

My Father's Wives by Mike Greenberg

See How Small by Scott Blackwood

Nice New Book Goodness

Here is what you can find on the shelves that is new next week. Come in and visit us, or put your items on hold from home! We will let you know when they are ready for you to pick up!

What's the Hoopla?

Who does a better documentary than Ken Burns?  Pretty much no one, in my opinion.  

Not sure what this is?  Read all about it here. And remember!  Our Holiday gift to you is 20 downloads this month.  Enjoy!

Syndicate content