It's the Finally Summer Edition

People! We made it! Welcome to the It’s Finally Summer Edition of You Are What You Read.

First of all, Tuesday’s Full Moon is known as The Flower Moon (makes sense), The Mother’s Moon (um ok?), The Milk Moon (why?), and The Corn Planting Moon. Those of you needing to get your corn crop in the ground, this is your time to shine. Get on that. And if you are doing the oh-so-mystifying ‘setting of the eggs’ today is your best day to make that happen. God speed on all of that.

The Library will be open out regular hours on Saturday and Sunday but closed on Monday. Some of us will be walking in that parade. Some of us will not be, citing that ten trips a week under the underpass is quite enough thank-you. But should you see my coworkers, please give them an extra-large cheer for all they do for you. As you all know, they are amazing.

If there’s a vet in your life, make sure to thank them for all that they have done for you too. This is their weekend after all. And if they aren’t still here, take a moment to reflect on their ultimate sacrifice for our freedoms. That’s only fitting.

No installment of You are What You Read next week, Peeps. I will be at Book Expo America in the city for most of next week. This is where I learn all about what you all will be excited about book wise for the coming year. If you see me skittering around Manhattan, say hello!

This week we have an Ali, an installment, a secluded sea village, and a chocolate chip cookie! Who wouldn’t want to have a chocolate chip cookie?

Let us begin!

Pat T found some humor this week. “I am still laughing after finishing Ali Wentworth's latest book, Go Ask Ali. In her third book, she offers us her quirky, yet sage advice, on all sorts of life experiences. The chapter entitled Hold on to You Summer, she shares that summer is her favorite season because it offers a reprieve from real life issues, but this year she's not feeling the good vibes of the season because of her own personal apocalypse. As she writes about her latest crisis, she comes to terms with accepting life in the present and cultivating an excitement for the future, whatever that holds (possibly grandchildren, fairy wings and glitter!) She writes about a midlife crisis that involves surgery, house moves, adoption and online shopping/dating. Ali suggests an alternative to these crisis - scroll on Petfinder.com to find the perfect puppy. This is just a snippet of the advice she offers, sprinkled with humor and endearing honesty!”

The Amazing Amanda has picked up the latest installment in the Sarah J. Maas series, A Court of Thorns and Roses. "The fourth book, A Court of Frost and Starlight is set a few months after the previous book ends. That book brought to a head the battle that had been threatening over three novels. The characters are now reeling in the aftermath of the terrible choices and sacrifices that had to be made. However, this book doesn't feel like it is set up to begin a whole new arc, but is just the missing section of the previous novel. The loose end storylines are being pulled into direct daylight in this story. Your unanswered questions will be examined, if not all answered. If you read the previous books, add this to your TBR pile. Another book is scheduled after it."

Kaitlin from the Rock! Hellloo Neighbor! “Hellooo! I recently read I Let You Go, by Clare Mackintosh. This was such a great suspense novel! It's about the aftermath of a hit and run that leaves a little boy dead. The story alternates viewpoints between Sean, the detective assigned to the case, and Jenna, who has exiled herself to a secluded sea village in order to escape the pain of her life. I love thrillers with twists, and this one had a reveal that literally made me gasp out loud. I recommend it for fans of Ruth Ware and Paula Hawkins. I also checked out Magnolia Table: A Collection of Recipes for Gathering, by the lovely and ever delightful Joanna Gaines. I'm not the biggest fan of baking, but I did end up baking her delicious chocolate chip cookies (and eating an undisclosed number of them!).”

Collection Call Number Availability Action
2nd Fl - Lives Lives 92 WENTWOR 5 of 5
Provider Status Action
overdrive
Collection Call Number Availability Action
Teen - Book Storage YA Series MAAS 2 of 2
Teen - Lounge Series YA Series MAAS 1 of 1
Provider Status Action
overdrive
Collection Call Number Availability Action
1st Fl - Detective Mystery D-M MACKINT 1 of 1
Main St 2nd Look D-M MACKINT 1 of 1
Provider Status Action
overdrive
Collection Call Number Availability Action
1st Fl - Audio Detective Mystery ACD D-M MACKINT 1 of 2
Provider Status Action
overdrive
Collection Call Number Availability Action
2nd Fl - Home Home 641.5975 GAINES 1 of 2
Provider Status Action
overdrive

List Categories

Tags

subscribe to our weekly newsletter