Note to Shelf: Mid-Summer Edition

How is it possible that the dog days of summer are right around the corner? Didn’t summer just start yesterday? Where does the time go? It must be all of the summer reading we have been doing that is making time pass so quickly.

Speaking of summer reading, don’t forget to participate in our Reach For The Stars Adult Summer Reading program. One lucky patron has already walked away with the first prize, but we still have two more drawings including the grand prize of a year-long family membership to the Museum of Natural History in NYC. Make sure to turn in your celestial game card by August 16th for a chance to win.

Pat T.

“From the author of The Dollhouse and The Masterpiece, The Chelsea Girls takes us back to the 1950s when the country was politically immersed in the ‘Red Scare.’ We see the occupants of the iconic Chelsea Hotel — long a sanctuary for writers, actors, artists, and musicians — grapple with the ever-present specter of McCarthyism, and especially its effects on two friends in the theater community.

Hazel Ripley and Marlene Mead met as USO performers during the war and continued their friendship upon returning to the States. While Maxine pursued her craft as an actress, Hazel, who was always the understudy, found more success as a playwright and director. The opening of Hazel’s play, based on her experiences during the last days of the war, is put in jeopardy when the cast and stage crew are accused of being communist sympathizers.

The McCarthyism blacklist creates fear, betrayal, lost careers, and financial ruin among those on stage and behind its curtain. It also threatens Hazel and Maxine’s friendship. The Chelsea Girls introduces entertaining characters and engages us in an eye-opening retrospective on a dark period in our country’s history.”

Virginia

Normal People by Sara Rooney is an extraordinary book about the complicated relationship between two young people experiencing first love. Connell, a popular yet poor athlete, unexpectedly connects with the wealthy, but antisocial misfit, Marianne. That encounters sets into motion a relationship that ebbs and flows over a four-year period. This isn’t a romance, but a coming of age story that explores friendships and deep connections.

It is also a realistic look at the psychology of relationships and how hurt feelings, misperceptions, and bad timing can spin love into different directions. Rooney does an incredible job of crafting dialogue that is beautifully stark. This is one of those rare books that stays with you long after you finish the last page.”

Brittany

“Honestly, if you ask me, I think it’s aliens,” she said, fast putting an end to her moment as the voice of sanity.

“Chuck Wendig's Wanderers is simultaneously a gripping page-turner you want to devour in one sitting, and a story that so closely resembles our current socio-political climate that you might find yourself, as I did, needing to put it down and step away a few times to keep from spiraling into depression.

We open on a young woman discovering her sister in a trance, walking with stoic determination toward a destination only she knows. The sister can't be woken, contained, stopped, or dissuaded. From the first page, you hit the ground running with these characters and this situation. The only thing you'll want to do is keep reading (and also possibly build a bomb shelter and wash your hands a million times.) That's it, no more or I'll spoil the fun. This is a long book — about 800 pages — but don't let that deter you. It's worth every page turn, every glance over your shoulder, every night lying in bed obsessing over potential causes of maladies. Fans of The Walking Dead, The Stand, and Station Eleven will love this book, as well as anyone interested in the myriad ways life as we know it could come to an end. It is a perfect blend of thriller, science-fiction, and current events.”

Diane

“Meg Braff's style is captured perfectly in her first book, The Decorated Home Living with Style and Joy, which I read last winter. I keep going back to this beautiful book for inspiration that can be found on every page. The author has divided her book into sections defined by titles: In Pursuit of Color, I Have a thing For Pattern, and It's In The Details.” Each section showcases the many stunning rooms she has created. As always, I loved checking out the last pages of the book for the list of sources for her work.

Braff gives advice on how to create comfortable yet elegant rooms. She emphasizes the importance of patterns, color, and the finishing touches that all rooms need to bring in the personal warmth and reflect a homeowners’ lifestyle.

The blending of classics, contemporary, and mid-century modern styles achieve a refreshing interior space in the author’s design work. Meg Braff has done this to perfection.”

Susie

“The movie "Captain Marvel" is the story of an extraterrestrial Kree warrior who finds herself caught in the middle of an intergalactic battle between her people and the Skrulls. Living on Earth in 1995, she has recurring memories of another life as the U.S. Air Force pilot, Carol Danvers. With help from Nick Fury, Captain Marvel tries to uncover the secrets of her past while harnessing her special superpowers to end the war with the evil Skrulls.

What I loved about this movie was that Captain Marvel serves as an extremely strong role model for women of all ages. Captain Marvel was an overall feel-good movie!

My second movie is a cleverly written drama/horror-themed film called "The Witch in The Window". Here we have the story of a father named Simon who brings his twelve-year-old son to rural Vermont to help flip an old creepy farmhouse. While working on the house, Simon and his son soon learn that they are not alone — the house is already occupied by the malicious spirit of a previous owner. "The Witch in The Window" will keep you on the edge of your seat. This is a film that truly captivates you from the start!”

Catherine

“Go on a whimsical adventure in The Library of Ever by Zeno Alexander! Eleven-year-old Lenora stops by the library with her inattentive nanny and unexpectedly stumbles into a magical library that contains all of the world’s knowledge. Though she’s only a kid, she is quickly recruited as the Fourth Assistant Apprentice Librarian.

She is whisked off on adventure after adventure as she helps library patrons find the answers to their time-and-space crossing queries. Quickly, she runs into bowler hat-wearing villains from the ‘Forces of Darkness’ who are dedicated to ignorance and censorship. It’s up to Lenora to triumph over these insidious wrongdoers as she rises in the ranks of magical librarianship.

This book reminded me of a new Phantom Tollbooth. It would make a perfect family read-aloud book for a cozy summer evening.”

Collection Call Number Availability Action
Main St Fic Fic DAVIS 0 of 10
14 Day Fic Fic DAVIS 1 of 6
Bag Book 0 of 10
Collection Call Number Availability Action
1st Fl - Fic Fic DAVIS 0 of 3
Main St Paperback Paperback Fic DAVIS 0 of 1
Main St Large Type LT Fic DAVIS 0 of 1
Provider Status Action
overdrive
Collection Call Number Availability Action
1st Fl - Audio Fic ACD FIC DAVIS 0 of 1
Collection Call Number Availability Action
1st Fl - Fic Fic DAVIS 0 of 2
Main St Fic Fic DAVIS 0 of 1
14 Day Fic Fic DAVIS 0 of 2
Bag Book BAG Fic DAVIS 1 of 10
Main St Large Type LT Fic DAVIS 0 of 1
Provider Status Action
overdrive
Collection Call Number Availability Action
1st Fl Large Type LT Fic ROONEY 0 of 1
Main St Fic Fic ROONEY 0 of 10
Bag Book BAG Fic ROONEY 0 of 11
Provider Status Action
overdrive
Collection Call Number Availability Action
1st Fl - Audio Fic ACD FIC ROONEY 0 of 1
Provider Status Action
overdrive
Collection Call Number Availability Action
Main St Fic Fic WENDIG 0 of 2
Collection Call Number Availability Action
Main St Home Home 747 BRAFF 0 of 2
2nd Fl - Home Home 747 BRAFF 0 of 1
Collection Call Number Availability Action
DVD Action ACTION DVD CAPTAIN 1 of 5
Teen - DVD TEEN DVD CAPTAIN 1 of 2
DVD Express Action ACTION DVD CAPTAIN 1 of 2
Collection Call Number Availability Action
DVD Drama DRAMA DVD WITCH 3 of 3
Collection Call Number Availability Action
Kids - Fic KIDS Fic ALEXAND 0 of 1
Collection Call Number Availability Action
Kids - Fic KIDS Fic JUSTER 3 of 3
Provider Status Action
overdrive
Collection Call Number Availability Action
Kids - Audio Book Kids ACD JUSTER 2 of 2

subscribe to our weekly newsletter