Due to a rise in COVID cases, masks are required when visiting the Library building.

The Darien Library family is truly special.

Because of our staff, Darien Library maintains a world-class reputation for excellence in customer service and innovation.

Administration

Reed Collyer

Bookkeeper

Reed keeps the bills paid and the books balanced. In her spare time, she is a runner, reader and mom to three fantastic kids and two rescue dogs. Some of her favorite authors are Zora Neale Hurston and Wally Lamb.


rcollyer@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5253

Elisabeth Gattullo Marrocolla

Assistant Director, Public Services

Elisabeth is an avid sci-fi and fantasy reader who was convinced her invitation to Hogwarts got lost in the mail.


emarrocolla@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5263

Caroline Mandler Lopez

Assistant Director, Operations

Caroline has twin boys, is a frequent story-time attendee, and coffee-drinker.


clopez@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5231

Cathy McLachlan

Administrative Assistant

Cathy makes it happen.


cmclachlan@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5220

Kiera Parrott

Director

Kiera is a lifelong learner and true believer in the transformational power of the public library. She enjoys reading twisty psychological thrillers and works of social science and history, watching Jeopardy, and listening to Hall & Oates.


kparrott@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5224

Adult Programming and Community Engagement

Amanda DeMaio

Adult Programmer

Amanda loves reading about far away adventures, crafting, and always makes time for a coming of age novel. If you are ever putting together a cheese plate or are looking for an electric kazoo performance, Amanda to the rescue!


ademaio@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5226

Jane Frazier

Adult Programming Librarian

Jane Frazier is our Hostess with the Mostess, resident Francophile, and Michigan sports fanatic. When she’s not welcoming you to one of our library programs, you can find her swimming laps at the YMCA or baking her famous chocolate chip cookies.


jfrazier@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5239

Joanne Gabriel

Adult Programmer

Joanne grew up in Darien, and currently lives here with her husband, two teenaged sons, and dog, Jett. She is into cooking, native gardening, and horticultural therapy.


jgabriel@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5264

Kathleen Millard

Adult Author Programming

Kathleen is a fiction reader with a sprinkling of nonfiction and thrillers. She is focused on author events and always interested in connecting amazing writers with an audience of readers. The best author events enrich your life and pique your curiosity. Fine arts, travel and wellness round out her days.


kmillard@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5237

Marianne Paterniti

Book Group Coordinator

Marianne is a book group's best friend. Ask her what she recommends for a lively discussion!


mpaterniti@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5251

Pat Sheary

Head of Adult Programming

Pat is not only an insatiable reader and huge Anglophile, she loves to travel and do needlework. Ask Pat where she is going next! She’ll be happy to tell you!


psheary@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5246

Building

Matthew Lucero

Custodian

He graduated from the CIA in 1993 and learned a lot of secrets from others before working in the culinary field for 22 years. He was an executive chef, chef manager, catering chef, pastry chef, and part-owner of an Italian deli for three years. He went to Germany and England to participate in food competitions where he won medals for his culinary skills. For over 20 years, he's been a fireman with Darien and Rowayton Fire Departments. He also trains dogs. His German Shepherd Cabo is in training to compete with him in the sport of Schutzhund.


mlucero@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5255

Victor Pensiero

Building Engineer

Vic keeps our library building in shape. As the former Chief Plumber for the Darien school district and current Chief of the Darien Fire Department, Vic is always ready to serve.


vpensiero@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5255

Knowledge and Learning Services

Maria Banke

Technology Assistant

Maria joined the Help Desk team after several decades as an IT professional in the financial industry. A long-time Darien resident, Maria spends her spare time volunteering for local organizations, sharing her wealth of IT knowledge!


mbanke@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5238

Sarah Faeth

Knowledge and Learning Assistant

Sarah has been told she has "printed matter disease" because she can't help but read any book that comes her way. She especially enjoys memoirs, social science, new fiction, and anything Buddhist. When she's not in the middle of a book, Sarah can be found hanging out with her cat, making jewelry, working on her meditation practice, or perfecting playlists of the grunge and rock songs she loved in high school.


sfaeth@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5236

Kathleen Fieffe

Knowledge and Learning Assistant

Kathleen loves documentaries, letterpress stationery and letter writing; doughnuts and ALL food. She also listens to public radio programming and podcasts. Ask her what she's listening to now!


kfieffe@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5236

Craig Maguire

Technology Assistant

Craig is currently in college pursuing a double major in Computer Science and Film Production. He is passionate about stories and the different ways they can be told. Craig also loves to travel, having a desire to see and experience as many new and interesting things as he can.


cmaguire@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5238

Sheba Mathai

Technology Assistant

When Sheba is not studying biology and human anatomy, she enjoys investing her time in guiding young students toward academic and social success. Sheba loves serving people whenever she can, so please do not hesitate to ask her for any assistance!


smathai1@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5238

Brittany Netherton

Head of Knowledge and Learning Services

Brittany loves the thrill of tracking down the answers to challenging questions. She is in a perpetual state of wanderlust and believes wholeheartedly in the healing power of a good laugh. In her spare time, she’s probably backpacking, cheering on the Kentucky Wildcats, or cleaning a stream.


bnetherton@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5261

Ali O'Brien

Knowledge and Learning Assistant

Ali loves science, science fiction, and art. She has far too many hobbies, and is happy to discuss gardening, cooking, any kind of art and craft, or the correct way to hem a pair of pants. Her favorite book series is Frank Herbert's Dune, but Ray Bradbury, Larry Niven, and Neil Gaiman also hold a special place in her heart.


aobrien@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5236

Kristen Orth

Knowledge and Learning Services Librarian

Kristen is a born-and-raised Midwesterner with a love for making things and science fiction. Outside of the Library, she can be found working on overly ambitious craft projects and pretending she's good at trivia.


korth@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5229

Caitlin Stote

Knowledge and Learning Assistant

Caitlin has been working seasonly at the Library for ten years. The Library is her sanctuary.


cstote@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5236

Colleen Wood

Knowledge and Learning Services Librarian

Colleen loves learning about people and places and hence has a particular interest in historical fiction. She's fascinated by the world around her and tries to spend as much time as possible outdoors. Her favorite hobbies are running with friends, working in the garden, and spending time with her husband, their dog, and grown-up children.


cwood@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5234

Materials Management

Tina Bothe

Materials Management

Tina is an excellent cook and baking is her specialty. Ask her about the cookbooks!


tbothe@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5244

Cathy Condren

Materials Management Shelver

Cathy is a retired lawyer with two grown children and she lives in Darien with her husband, dog and cat. She enjoys reading literary fiction, memoirs, legal thrillers, detective mysteries and cookbooks. She also loves spending time with people she loves, bird-watching, animals, volunteering, and road trips.


ccondren@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5264

Rose Curtin

Materials Management Shelver

Rose is mom to two grown daughters, Melissa and Cindy. She is a marathon runner and plays tennis and paddle tennis. She is also a talented seamstress and creates specialty gifts to sell at holiday and craft fairs. Rose also loves to cook and read historical fiction.


rcurtin@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5264

Kate Frick

Head of Materials Management

Kate is a big believer in the power of words, whether read, sung, or spoken. When not in the library, Kate can be found either immersed in a book while cuddling with cats or singing and dancing around the apartment.


kfrick@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5242

Jo Gleeson

Materials Management Shelver

Jo is a retired middle school teacher who is trading YA literature for historical fiction and novels. She enjoys biking, baking, long walks, and discovering new places.


jgleeson@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5264

Abby Sesselberg

Collection Development Coordinator

Abby reads a wide range of books with an emphasis on genre mysteries, series, and thrillers. She also enjoys biographies, memoirs, and books about chefs.


asesselberg@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5228

Inger Vilter

Materials Management Shelver

Inger lives in Darien with her husband and has three grown kids. She loves to read, going to the beach, and watching baseball!


ivilter@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5264

Eden Wright

Materials Management Shelver

Eden is an avid reader. Her favorite genres are memoirs, classics, and new fiction. She also enjoys Shakespeare.


ewright@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5264

Readers' Advisory Services

Barbara "Babs" Blake

Reader Advisor

Barbara is one of our film buffs. Ask her what movies she's seen lately!


bblake@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5239

Virginia Grubbs

Assistant Head of Reader Services

Virginia's favorite genres include thrillers and suspense, mysteries, general fiction, chick-lit and young adult books featuring a dystopian society. Aside from books, she also loves movies and suspenseful TV series. She's a proud Texan enjoying life in Connecticut.


vgrubbs@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5232

Jill Maguire

Reader Advisor

Jill loves reading and watching movies, but not at the same time. Jill belongs to a variety of book groups. Her husband and 4 grown children add hustle to the bustle, and she loves every minute of it.


jmaguire@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5239

Barbara Monin

Reader Advisor

Barbara is a Francophile and reader of all things. Ask her what she has loved lately!


bmonin@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5249

Pat Tone

Head of Reader Services

Pat is a dog lover and haunter of book shops everywhere. Ask her about the best in books on cd or playaways.


ptone@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5248

User Experience and Technology

Karyn Alfini

Senior Technology Assistant and Room Bookings Coordinator

Karyn is a firm believer in starting off every morning with a cup of coffee. When not at the Library, Karyn enjoys spending time with friends and family, seeing her favorite bands in concert, and exploring new places.


kalfini@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5223

Amanda L. Goodman

Head of UX and Technology

Amanda is a librarian who loves mountains, genealogy, and fandom. She wants to travel the world—after she finishes this story.


agoodman@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5258

Kristen Hinz

Library Marketer

Kristen is a poetry lover, iced coffee sipper, and amateur photographer. As a former English major, Early American literature, Gothic novels, and magical realist fiction hold special places in her heart. When she isn't in the library or nestled into a book, you can find her exploring the woods, attending a hockey game (go Habs go!), or playing video games.


khinz@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5240

Youth Services

Samantha Cardone

Children's Program Coordinator

Samantha is a strong believer that every art project needs more glitter. She loves working as a children’s librarian because it involves lots of improvisation, books, and imagination! She enjoys epic fantasy series, middle grade fiction, and Jane Austen. When not burrowing into a good book, Samantha likes visiting historical sites, writing, and trying new food in the city.


scardone@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5245

Eileen D'Andrea

Children's Library Assistant

Eileen loves to connect kids with that one perfect book... the book that will make them a reader. She is a school librarian when she's not in the Children's Library and when she reads books for grown-ups, she prefers historical fiction.


edandrea@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5235

Krishna Grady

Head of Youth Services

Raised by books, the child of a librarian was destined to end up in the stacks. She loves a good musical and can often be found singing in the Library. Her favorite books to read are fantasy and romance. She loves a nice cardigan and a cat. She has a slight obsession with K-dramas. Ask her what drama she is currently watching.


kgrady@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5254

María E. Magallanes

Children's Library Assistant

María is an art lover who loves to paint, whether it’s on a canvas or accidently on her clothes. When she’s not painting, she’s most likely spending time with her three pet dogs and fish. She incorporates art and music into her class Libros y Cuentos, along with some stuffed animals as she has three pet dogs and a fish. If you ever feel like practicing or learning some Spanish, feel free to come and say ‘Hola’ to her.


mmagallanes@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5235

José Maria Magallanes

Children's Library Assistant

A lover for the intricacies that come with writing songs and books, José Maria is a proud member of the Darien Library staff since 2017. He can most often be found in the Children’s Library making crafts and helping out, but occasionally you’ll see him at the Welcome Desk assisting patrons with a smile. He loves creating music for most of the day at home, while in his spare time you’ll find him in a stack of his favorite type of books: detective mysteries and rom-coms. His hobbies include diving deep into the world of music audio, exploring new places for fun activities, and is currently in the midst of writing a memoir he is planning on completing by the end of the year.


jmagallanes@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5235

Mia Orobona

Assistant Head of Teen Services

Mia is our resident teen wrangler. When she is not at the Library, she spends a lot of her time on Tumblr, going on Target runs, and of course, reading books. She’s open to reading anything, but is most fond of YA realistic fiction and graphic novels with strong female characters.


morobona@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5225

Angela Perez

McGraw Family Children’s Librarian

Angela incorporates music and art in as many of her Library programs as possible. When she’s not test-driving creative tech tools for kids, you will likely find her record hunting, exploring the city with her camera, or speeding through another novel.


aperez@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5241

Samarpana Tamm

Children's Library Assistant

Samarpana is a former Montessori teacher and one of our Early Childhood Specialists. She conducts Giggles & Rhymes and can help anyone navigate our Picture Book collection!


stamm@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5235

Erika Walston

Early Literacy and Outreach Coordinator

Erika likes bringing the library outdoors and inspiring a love of nature in others. In her free time, she enjoys watching British mysteries, baking, or learning a new craft.


ewalston@darienlibrary.org

(203) 669-5243

subscribe to our weekly newsletter